1911 Sear Jigs

As I’ve been putting together tooling for a 1911 build I’ve became interested in the different sear jigs available - there are numerous choices. I’ve had a Ed Brown for some time and it seams to work fine but I don’t like the fact that you have to freehand the escape angle. If you’re careful you can keep the escape angle square to the primary angle but there’s no guide to help establish and maintain the angle. I have read about the Tru-radius jig and it makes a lot of sense to me. I decided to make a set and I made them from .405-.402. I like the fact that the primary angle is consistently neutral and you do get a guide for the escape angle. I’m interested to hear what others think of the tru-radius especially if you’ve used it, or any of the other sear /hammer jigs for that matter.

9 Likes

I would like to hear about the Tru-radius jig as well. It has always intrigued me. I just might have to purchase one and do a video on it.

Generally, I don’t like to mess with sears. In my 1911s, if I want to get a better trigger pull I yank out the guts and put in cylinder and slide components in and I don’t have to mess with a jig. But the tinkerer in me totally wants to buy some jigs and play.

7 Likes

I have a Power custom Series I Stoning jig. I do like it. It is built solid and will last likely forever. It is a simple design. It’s easy to use and there are many different firearms that you can buy the adapters to work on. For my build 1, I wanted to do all of my own sear and hammer work to make my trigger job truly mine.

Pros:

1. Easy to use and gets good consistent primary and secondary angles for your sear.

Cons:

1. Does not do hammer squaring or polishing only sear work.

So for my build 1, I used this jig and it was quite easy to use. There is a document on doing trigger work for sear and hammer on brownells https://www.brownells.com/guntech/2-lb-trigger-pull/detail.htm?lid=10297