9th Circuit Rules No Right To Carry in Public

Disappointing ruling for 2A civil rights advocates in those states under the 9th Circuit’s jurisdiction (West Coast).

I haven’t read the decision yet. Apparently, it’s a 215 page opinion. I’ve been practicing law for over 25 years. And although I’m not an appellate attorney, I’ve never heard of a written decision of that length. I’m guessing the length also includes one or more dissenting opinions.

Anyway, with the new make-up of the Supreme Court, I’m wondering if the justices will finally vote to hear a case like this, assuming it’s appealed. Hopefully it will be.

11 Likes

One can only hope

8 Likes

You DO realize this is the same scotus that refused to hear what is probably the most significant case is U.S. history that was in their exclusive jurisdiction right? All them hearing this case does for me is to motivate me to make my aim sure and my draw quick.

8 Likes

Yes, it’s disappointing the Supreme Court has repeatedly declined to hear so many 2A cases ever since the McDonald case. Many legal scholars suspect it was because Roberts is too much of a swing vote that conservative justices had decided to pass and wait until a new, more 2A favorable make-up of the Court is in place. Roberts probably would’ve ruled against the 2A and in favor of state restrictions. But now with Barrett, Kavanaugh and Gorsuch on the bench, there’s hope they now have a 5-justice majority (with Alito and Thomas) to overturn these anti-2A state laws.

I’ll admit, I’m still somewhat leery, though. In my opinion, “conservative” justices usually rule in favor of business and corporate interests. Those same interests, along with the “ruling elite” among both parties, appear terrified of an armed citizenry, especially with the American middle class in decline. I guess we’ll see what happens with this case, though.

10 Likes

:pray:

7 Likes

In other news, I just ruled that the 9th circuit court has no right to make judgments of any sort.