Basic ballistics class

OK, I’m working on my assignment for this week and need someone to help with this. Please answer below.

Interview someone who is experienced with firearms. Ask this person to explain trajectory, wind drift, recoil, velocity, and accuracy. In addition, ask this person to provide at least two examples

4 Likes

Would a JFK report be wrong?

2 Likes

Ya, that’s not going to help me much.

2 Likes

But there’s a lot of trajectory, wind drift, recoil, velocity, and accuracy involved…

and a grassy knoll

5 Likes

Okay, I’m no expert, but this would be my understanding of the terms as according to ME put as succinctly as possible :wink:

Trajectory: the path a bullet takes from muzzle to target.

Wind drift: the amount of deviation of the bullet right or left of the desired point of impact as affected by wind.

Recoil: the amount of energy directed back towards the shooter as a result of firing a bullet.

Velocity: the speed the bullet travels from muzzle to target.

Accuracy: the ability to repeatedly hit the desired target location.

7 Likes

Now, did they want two examples (dealers choice)? Or two examples for each term?

3 Likes

Pew pew thingy make loud boom.

Pointy thing go fast.

Pointy thing get pulled down by gravity and pushed by the wind.

Gooder pew pew things hit smaller things more better.

Aim higher for farther targets. Aim differently based on environmental conditions.

(Edit: fixing an autocorrect)

7 Likes

:joy::joy::joy:

4 Likes

I do believe two examples of each, but I’m not sure how.

That was no help, other than it made me laugh. :smirk:

5 Likes

You said basic! Do you need me to get more basic?

Fast pew pews are super shooty at tiny things.

5 Likes

In all seriousness, we could hop on a video chat and turn this into a video.

5 Likes