BCM build

Hello! I’m relatively new to the AR game and I’m looking into putting together a BCM rifle. I would love to know and hear what you would add to your build mods etc. Im looking to spend $2000 or less. Thanks and all help is appreciated.

9 Likes

Ive never spent over $500 in parts, but that was before the end times started.
Remember, a rifle with no bullets is a club, and an AR/M16 makes a bad club. I know.
What ever caliber you choose, make sure you can buy/make ammo.

Also barrel twist rate is important for the weight of the pill you wish to push down range. The wrong twist will end up with larger groups. I had built a custom barrel for 300 blackout with a 1/12 rate to stabilize smaller pills (110-150gr). it spins the costly 110gr and 125gr varmint grenades good out to 200 yards. It shoots 147gr M80, trash, pulled machine bullets better than the wee ones.

I did depot service on M16s in the Army decades ago. Ive shown 100s of folks how to make them. My flintlock too 5 months to build.
An AR is a 2 hour project at most.

10 Likes

That “should” be easy, and

Welcome!

9 Likes

Welcome from KY.
With that kind of budget I’d be buying parts from LaRue.

10 Likes

Welcome to the forum.

The first question is what are you wanting to do with your rifle? That determines a lot with respect to recommendations.

Second, what caliber(s) are you considering?

Third, are you wanting to build a rifle out of parts you pick? Or, are you buying a rifle and making modifications to fit your plans?

Do you have, or have access to, the tools needed to build or work on an AR?

What drew you to BCM for parts? There are many other reliable brands available in all price ranges.

10 Likes

Oooh, pcc upper can do 45acp or 10mm!

Wade Wilson Marvel GIF

8 Likes