Considering a .308 build

I have no experience with building an AR, much less an AR in.308. I had a thought to acquire all these top-notch parts and with the guidance of a gunsmith have it assembled. I was thinking of Krieger barrels, matched set of upper and lower, yada yada…
Then it occurred to me, wait…so many manufactures have engendered a .308 and failed to produce a great product. Some have succeeded but many have failed to produce a dependable .308.
So what makes me think that I have any answers they don’t? I’m sure they know far more about engineering a rifle than I do. What if I end up with an expensive piece of crap? Maybe I’m just better off buying a good one from a quality manufacturer with a warranty.
Anyone have any thoughts on this?

I think it would be up to the armorer to make it dependable.

It boils down to what you mean by “dependable”. Any AR-10 manufactured by a reputable company should be just as dependable as it’s .223/5.56 counterpart. What separates the 2 is the issue of inherent accuracy. Generally, AR-15’s are compared to other medium power semi autos while AR-10 invariably get compared to precision bolt guns in that department.

I’ve never seen a reliability issue with an AR-10 platform built by a company that builds reliable AR-15’s, as long as quality ammo and magazines are used. It’s usually simply a matter of “you get what you pay for”. The real issues occur when the owner tries to eek a little more accuracy out of the rifle by changing things like buffers and triggers that are different than the OEM components. For example, the rifle worked fine with surplus ammo and then developed “light strikes” after a trigger job or the shooter tries running hard primers through a gun with a factory “match” trigger to the same effect.