Even professionals screw up n break stuff

I think most of you know now I have been a professional gun smith for 30 years. That’s quite some time working on all kinds of firearms.
Well all those years I have been very lucky. No major issues till yesterday.
I have always had issues removing Weatherby and Howa barrels for threading.
Others have too! I have had other “gun smiths” send me barreled actions to separate them.
Well yesterday I heard a noise no one in my trade wants to hear. A secondary pop and a feel in the wrench that means trouble has struck.
While removing the barrel after the initial release, the wrench ground to a halt. I froze… tried to go back… locked up solid.
After muttering a swear speech I had no choice off it comes.
I used heat… then more heat. Slowing working it with break free trying to get it to let go. Then the pop… taking off the action wrench I had split the upper part of the action clear into the first scope mount hole.
Ok, with it now broken, gloves come off.
I cherry red that bastard and put a 3 foot breaker bar on it.
After a 1/2 hour, I have it off. Barrel? F-ED but it could be cut down and rechambered into something else. The action? Destroyed
I will post photos.

10 Likes

You may be wondering what a professional does in this situation… well, I messaged the client, sent photos, asked what he would like to do.
He was having issues with accuracy with that Wheatheby so he decided to go with a Remington 700. One is ordered and on the way.
Hard lesson.

11 Likes

What is the cause of the frozen barrel?
If it is carbon may I suggest you use Stoddard Solvent and soak it.
Stoddard Solvent also known as PD680 in the military; dissolves carbon.
I use it when I replace my plugs on 4.6L Ford.
They have an extended spark plug that carbons up around the extension and freezes the plug in the head and they tend to break off in the head.
A really common problem on 4.6L engines until 2007 when Ford revised the heads.