Firearms maintenance and inspection.

Let’s talk about professional maintenance. This will seem a little self-serving, as I am a professional gunsmith but it has to be said. When is the last time you had a firearm inspected by a professional? I’m not talking about field stripping and cleaning because you shot it (although, that is a service most gunsmiths do offer). I’m talking about a real inspection? Do you know what you’re looking at when you take the weapon apart? Do you know what wear items need replacing and at what intervals? I know, we all like to tinker. But, if you need a video to tell you how to field strip, you most likely don’t. We love our guns. And they aren’t exactly cheap (most of the time). How often have you sat in a waiting room waiting on the mechanic to change your oil or rotate your tires? You know there’s stuff that he/she is going to recommend because you’ve used to vehicle. And you know that some things are important.

“Oh, I need brakes? I wasn’t aware because, God knows, I’m not crawling under there to look at them. Tell you what, good looking out. Go ahead and throw them on there because I don’t want to die on the way home.”

Firearms are really no different with regards to inspection and maintenance. They’re actually MORE important to have inspected. Because you don’t always shoot them every day the way you drive your vehicle. If you’re brakes are bad, there is a point, where the vehicle will tell you. The problem with treating firearms that way is, when they tell you something is broken, someone could get hurt.