Good hunting handguns under $750

I’m asking for a handgun for Christmas, something that I plan to take hunting as I don’t want to drag my 9lb Mosin up the twelve mile hike into my buddies hunting spot and quite frankly a 7.62x54r is a bit of over kill for deer. My parents have asked for suggestions and I am currently looking over gunbroker and a few other websites. I’m personally thinking a Glock 32 in 357 sig or a wheel gun in 357 magnum. Any other suggestions?

I suppose if you prefer polymer or steel would be a good place to start? My suggestions are below, though I am not an expert and these are just my choices and I also didn’t pick anything expensive. I would like to throw in a wild card, I recently bought a Star BM surplus pistol and love it to death. Very accurate and very fun to shoot, and it was only a cool $250 from J&G Sales.

Polymer:
CZ 75
Walther PPQ M2 edit The PPQ has the best trigger on a pistol I’ve ever used personally.

Steel:
RIA 1911
Any .357 mag or .44 mag revolver

I’ve been looking at the M&P 45 so that or the RIA is probably what I’ll go with. Possibly with a 460 rowland conversion.

I really liked the M&P–before I fired it. I was disappointed in the grip and trigger. :frowning: I know its a solid and quality piece, I just didn’t like how it felt.

The RIA 1911 though is something I want to do, and also like you do the 460 conversion as well. Pretty good bang for your buck (pun intended). :slight_smile: I might suggest checking out the PPQ in .45 ACP, its sweetness.

I’m not a Walther fan. I’m still trying to stay away from a 9mm because my state has a 350ftlb requirement and I like cast bullets so I need something at least 40 S&W. I like the RIA 1911 however.

I got a glock 40 10mm mos. Buffalo bore rounds well over 650, good hunting pistol. I use vortex venom, or tru glo fiber optic sights.