Hearing protection question

Hello all,

So I’m still new to shooting. Part of that is hearing protection. So I got a pair of Honeywell earmuphs off amazon. link to the page: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001T7QJ9O/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1.

I also got the gel cups, because I heard they were supposed to be more comfy. And they are def much more comfortable then the stock ones the earmuphs ship with.

So I went to the range with them for the first time, and I noticed my right side got a bit louder every time I turned my head to the left. I just dealth with it at the time, and I used my index finger on my right side to hold that side down.

After some testing when I got home, I found out that my neck artery is creating a gap in my earmuphs protection every time I turn my head to the left. And no matter how I adjust them, this gap is always there. Honestly, its so big I can fit my right index finger into it.

My question is, has anyone else had to deal with this? And if so, how did you manage it? If not, then what? Because I’d like to keep my hearing, if at all possible. But I’ve never had any success with in-ear head phones (they always slip out, no matter what I do). So I don’t think that kind of hearing protection would work for me.

1 Like

I use the Howard Leight set you link to. Fit wise they’re fine for me but I have started to use a pair of foam plug in my ears as well. The HL’s amplification is sufficient to still hear people, Range Safty Officers for example, even with the foam plug. But the combination really help with gunfire.

You might also want to try other in ear options like

Or some other custom molded sets. Prices are all over the place so be ready for that.
It’s kinda like holsters. You’ll be through a few before you find something you like

Good luck.

3 Likes

Either quit moving your head or have that pesky artery removed…kidding🤣 mquinn55’s suggestion of the custom molded plugs is a great solution!

1 Like