Hello from Down Under!

Hey guys,
Thanks for welcoming me aboard. I started a channel in March and I’ve only posted an intro video. So I thought I’d better put an intro thread on here. I live about 2.5 hours from Sydney in country NSW and I hunt, shoot, reload and I’m about to try and get into casting.

I’m involved in pro-gun politics here, as well as pro-fishing and pro-rural community politics and I’m reasonably acquainted with the issues involved in our state. In a country famous (and infamous) for “effective”(extremely debatable) and heavily restrictive gun laws that’s a lot.

In my everyday life I’m a teacher and muso, a family man with 8 kids(hence the username) married to the same great lady for 23 years, and first and foremost a Christian.

So, I look forward to taking part in this platform. Cheers & God Bless!! :cowboy_hat_face:

16 Likes

Welcome to the cool group!

14 Likes

@HerdingCats welcome to full30. Glad you made your way to the intros.

Here in the states reloading components are sloooowly becoming available again after a shortage for the last year. How is supply and demand down under?

11 Likes

Welcome from Iowa!

13 Likes

There’s actually not been an issue with reloading components……well, aside of the cost. Primers have been a tiny bit harder to come by but so has rimfire ammo. Winchester used to have an ammo factory here that made 22LR, 22WMR (I think?) and 9mm. But they closed it for reasons none of us understand and, like you, we’re now at the mercy of manufacture and supply. Even more galling, the Aussie made 22LR hunting ammo was very accurate. I can only think the 9mm would’ve been really inexpensive to the US company after currency conversion, too. So we’re all still mystified why they shut it down.