How can I find out what my stripped lower is?

Over the last few years I actually forgotten what my 2 stripped lowers are as per the 4473.

I can’t remember if they’re pistol, rifle firearm or whatever (that’s how long it’s been since I did a 4473).

Is there an online resource I can look at because the store I got them at don’t exist anymore.

7 Likes

The 4473 is stored at the gun shop. If they went out of business then that paperwork was turned over to the ATF. If they were stripped lowers they should have been marked receiver not long gun or handgun. I am not a lawyer but I have worked for over 15 years between 2 gunshops and have filled out thousands of 4473’s. Hope this helps.

8 Likes

If the paperwork listed them as stripped lowers you can do what you want with them. If they listed them as rifle or pistol is where you would run in to a problem. Do you remember what the paper work said?

7 Likes

I don’t remember what was stated
and like I said it was some time ago and I can’t get ahold of them because the company is not around anymore

8 Likes

My lgs lists stripped receivers as “other” ?

7 Likes

^^^^This. Why would any LGS mark pistol or rifle when it is clearly neither? Every lower I’ve ever bought has been marked “Other”.

8 Likes

That’s the way it should be…however, in the past, I have had my Stripped lowers “designated” as “rifles” by the place that shipped them to my lgs, who also put “rifle” on the paperwork. At the time, I didn’t care, now I do.
(OP) So, it is arbitrary as to how they may have originally designated your lowers. As for finding out…good luck. ATF will be your resource; no clue as to how helpful they will be.

8 Likes

Ok if this many people said it should be other I will do with it what I please.

5 Likes

From what I’ve seen the caliber on the lowers marked as 5.56 or what ever caliber of the upper it came with. If you purchased a lower by itself it should be marked “multi caliber”.

5 Likes