Illinois Law Help

For anyone who knows Illinois gun law, I have some questions on building an AR-15 pistol. Now I understand that if I build the rifle with a barrel under 16", it has to be registered as a pistol and has to have a pistol lower receiver. Does this mean I’m limited to the caliber of the gun though? I had an idea for my first build to have a 10.5" barrel for 5.56 ammo but I don’t know if I can legally do it in this state. I haven’t really found any article or forum that can help with the question I have.

4 Likes

you’re doing an 80% and plan to register?

5 Likes

I want to do a full build not 80%. My mistake I’m still very new to all of this

4 Likes

Federal law says if you buy a stripped lower you can build a pistol no real caliber restrictions. You can’t take a lower that was built as a rifle and change it to a pistol. I have AR pistols in 9mm 223, 300 blackout and plan a 6.5 grendel build. Don’t know about Illinois laws.

5 Likes

I would contact someone at one of your local gun shops and ask the pertinent questions
Your state has some fairly severe gun restrictions and you definitely don’t want to get caught with something that’s illegal in your state
Just food for thought
You should probably start with a rifle length build before delving into shorter barrels
The knowledge you gain from your first build will help with the next ones believe me there will be more than one
Do some research before you proceed

7 Likes

@YEETpowder I don’t know enough about this to answer, like the guys said, check with your local gun shop as they may can answer some of your questions.

Here’s a couple of articles that I hope may help. At the bottom of the page of the first article are some sources you can check out. Though both of these are from late 2018, things might have changed since then. It is Illinois after all. Chicago has its own set of rules.

https://www.gunrights4illinois.com/blog/the-ar15-pistol-in-chicago/

5 Likes