Lets Cast!!!

This place looks dead, lets liven it up a tad.

77221330_1744354482623119_8837394364029206528_n - Copy

11 Likes

Its only been here about a week longer than you, a coincidence or ? :hugs:

8 Likes

LOL :rofl:

12 Likes

Nice

8 Likes

I don’t want to be behind that door.

7 Likes

Very nice set up! Home made lube? Care to share the recipe?

Looks like alox/bees wax mix.

4 Likes

@Mick472 please give us an intro thread and let us know your reloading experience :hugs:

5 Likes

Well, I have been shooting big bore revolvers for 26 yrs. Shot a ton of Cast but never my own . So with the outrageous prices of a box of lead cast boolits I decided to start making my own .ordered a lee lead melting pot and a lee 2 cavity 300 grain mold and some gas checks , ordered my lead from roto-metals . After the initial couple 100 I will have my money back. Already went through a hundred that I personally made as one 5 pound bar yeilds 103 bullets for me at the weight and caluber I am shooting . Was surprised how easy it really was . I really like videos from fortunecookie45 on you-tube. Here is a pic of my bullets.

8 Likes

wow, those have a genuine quality look to them, well done

7 Likes

The critical things are temperature of the lead and get the mould hot but the latter isn’t all that critical if we just remelt the lousy bullets until they start to fill out the mould.

I started casting #4 buckshot not knowing what I was in for. From the Cast Boolit forum I gather that experienced casters can’t do it successfully. But I sorta figured what I wrote above, just not to the degree those factors would important to making buckshot. I was sorta successful after the mould got good and hot and not so much before that. That told me what I needed to do. Discussing it on the Cast Boolit Forum nailed it. The next session had very few culls. It turned out that what in my lack of knowledge I decided to tackle was an excellent way to learn.