My first build.

OK, so I am collecting for my first build. It’s been put on hold for a while but I am about to order some more things come the end of the month. I will list the couple of things I have bought so far, and then my want list. If anyone sees anything that looks wrong or not compatible, or items I am forgetting,please tell me.

(List deleted)

8 Likes

Why do you need two sets of pins?

You will be super happy with your choice of trigger. Yes they cost a lot, but dang, I love mine so much I have two of them.

5 Likes

Do I have two pin sets listed? those are the take down pins

I saw several reviews on the trigger. It looks nice

4 Likes

Honestly I’ve put stupid money into AR builds and at the end of the day its just an AR, my advice, build a cheapy or two, if it sticks with you, progress from there

7 Likes

Besides putting too much money in this, is there anything I need changed or am missing?
I know its my first build, but one thing I have noticed is the consistent changing out of parts on ARs to always upgrade. I don’t want to change out my AR after it’s build. I would rather just build it upgraded from the beginning so that I’m not wasting even more money buying multiples of something.
But I appreciate your thought.

The only thing I can not decide on is compensator. I picked out a cheapy the Strike Industries J Comp Gen 2 but honestly I’m not sure.

5 Likes

Do you have a lower parts kit? This would include your detents and springs, trigger, takedown pins, safety selector, mag release, and bolt catch. It’s these little parts that people miss.

4 Likes

I have everything except the springs and detents. I will pick up some

4 Likes

You will need two each takedown detents and springs, one safety spring and detent, don’t forget the bolt catch, which is another spring and plunger, plus a roll pin.

4 Likes

Thanks. Added to my notes

4 Likes

Honestly @Robert made a excellent point
As a first build start with a cheaper kit and go from there