Need buffer/stock help

Ok, so as I said when I came here, I am new to guns and decided to build myself an AR15. Well, I approached it like a girl and wrote down everything I thought was pretty and would want on my rifle. I did do some research too though. Anyway, I am ordering one component at a time, each paycheck. It’s time for me to order my stock and the one I chose was Strike Industries Viper PDW stock. What I like about it was it seemed minimalist (which I like), it also looked comfortable. It’s pretty short when collapsed, and just pops open at the push of a button. But then I read about LOP. It’s no wonder most rifles seemed awkward when I fired them, it’s because they are too big for me. So I learned to measure for my LOP, which is just under 11-1/2". Extended this stock gives me 11" which I am happy with. Here’s the problem. I think maybe it won’t work for what I want to build. I have an 18" barrel (.223 Wylde) with rifle length gas system. I know this stock and buffer are not intended for rifle length, or at least, I assume it’s not. So question. Can I use this on my build? If not, does anyone have any suggestions for an adjustable stock that would fit me? I did like this stock because if not extended, it was pretty short when collapsed and that also appealed to me. Suggestions. Be gentle. Still learning. Thanks in advance. https://www.strikeindustries.com/shop/products/ar/upper-parts/si-viper-pwd.html

6 Likes

As long as you have the proper spring and buffer
It doesn’t matter how long the barrel is as far as the gun functioning. 18" barrel is not a problem. That’s only 2" more barrel than an M4. I have run a 24" heavy barrel varmint upper on a collapsible stock lower with no problems. 223/5.56 doesn’t cause the kind of problems that 308/7.62 seem to cause.

7 Likes

Correct! Just don’t put a rifle stock spring and buffer in an adjustable receiver Extention (Fancy Tech term for Buffer Tube).