Need Sling Recommendations for first rifle

Hello all,

I picked up my first .22 rifle the other day. With all this anti-gun stuff in the media, I figured it was now or never. And I chose now. For anyone wondering, I live in NY, and its a Savage Arms 64F auto loader. Came with a scope, and a 10 round magazine.

My brother in law, who is in the Army Reserves, is going to teach me how to shoot it the next time we have a free day on the same day. (looking like 2 weeks). That said, I have picked up a package of snap caps to practice with, so I’m not a complete noob when we do go to the range.

But, while practicing, I’ve been surprised by how heavy it is. And, I don’t pretend to be a strong guy. I’m an IT guy by trade. We aren’t known for being particularly robust. So I wanted to get a sling for the rifle. But the trouble is, it doesn’t have any sling attachment points on it. So, instead of drilling holes into my first rifle, I wanted to try and find some other slings types.

Is there a general sling rule of thumb to try and look for?

2 Likes

I have a Savage Arms rifle and I recently purchased this sling through Amazon, which I love.

Blend-In Ultimate Grip Anti-Slip Quick detach Rifle Crossbow Shotgun Gun Sling (Multi-Color Selection)

If you do not have sling attachments, you can also pick these up.

Sling Swivel Screws,Swivel Sling Wood Screw Studs,3PC Gun Sling Mounting Kit Sling Swivel Studs Screws Set Hunting Set for Rifles & Shotguns Swivel Stud Base
Amazon.comSY300_QL70&dpSrc=srch

I was thinking about something like this for attachment:

For the front: https://www.amazon.com/Fire-Force-Shoulder-Buttstock-Attachment/dp/B00QUWNWQG/ref=pd_bxgy_200_2?_encoding=UTF8&pd_rd_i=B00QUWNWQG&pd_rd_r=WMFK65JRK5ZHGZ103FP2&pd_rd_w=csROX&pd_rd_wg=C2oEe&psc=1&refRID=WMFK65JRK5ZHGZ103FP2

For the stock: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00QZUSZVA/?coliid=I3SUS6DXXG1K24&colid=3CGEW6V5WRTAU&psc=1&ref_=lv_ov_lig_dp_it