Powder

I’m currently using Hodgdon HP-38 for loading.38 & .357. It has a good yeild and goes bang. Ok here comes my first dumb question, is there a better or more commonly used powder for my loading? I don’t know what to look for in a particular powder. The guys at my local gun store recommended this powder to me so I’m starting a 1K round run. Once fired brass, 158gr copper plated bullets and 4 grains of HP-38. Any and all advice appreciated.

Hey Berry,
I’m a 63 year old noob to reloading myself and I can confirm there are no stupid questions here. You’ll get an answer soon no doubt from folks more qualified than I.

That said, when I asked the same question at a local gun show vendor’s booth he recommended to me Titegroup

https://www.brownells.com/reloading/powder/pistol-powder/hodgdon-titegroup-powder-prod34098.aspx

The other suggestion I would make is to start with maybe 100 rounds first. Fire them and if all goes well do more. If you’re recipe is too hot or cold for you you can adjust and move on.
No need to rush.
Watch what you’re doing and avoid distractions. Then it’s a blast.

I second mquinn55. My normal recommendation to customers for pistol powders is TItegroup, However, my second choice (for revolvers) which is also pretty good is 2400. I do like Titegroup for most pistols as it is a clean burning and easy to measure powder and I can use it in almost any pistol from a 380 to a 45 ACP. On loading, we usually suggest 10 to 12 rounds as a test load, then go from there, as having to pull a large number of shells is a real pain. If you don’t have a chrono, see if you can borrow one, a lot of gun stores and ammo places do have them to loan out (we do), so check around as that will give you your best test data.

Depends what you’re looking to do. Bullet size and muzzle velocity all play in to it.

A-#5 will give you lower grain per load, but opens you up to accidental double charge.
A-#7 is a higher grain per load.