Real world survival lessons from Ukrain (article from the Modern survivalist blog)

Heres an article I found over on Ferfal’s blog. Im not sure if any of yiu read his stuff but he is one of the more credible survival instructors having survived Argentina during its economic collapse which left them with no government for close to 5 years. He has a book “The Modern Survivalist”, I think its worth a read if youre into prepping. Anyhow he got this off the Russian forums and had it translated.

http://www.themodernsurvivalist.com/archives/4032

Excellent info. Thanks for sharing.

Heres a good blog on survival lessons learned from Hurricane Katrina.

http://www.theplacewithnoname.com/blogs/klessons/p/map.html

Another good source of info. I have no experience surviving in war torn areas nor do I have experience surviving the loss of potable water and electricity for a long period of time. However, I’ve been through about 5 hurricanes in my time, including aftermath cleanup after Katrina hit. With that limited experience, I learned that in the aftermath of each, four main things stood out:

Need for water (No. 1 thing)
Need for gas
Value of neighbors
Fast food joints and big box discount stores rock

Every hurricane I’ve been through has resulted in the loss of clean, potable water from a few days to a few weeks. Sometimes, not even dirty water comes out of the faucet. Before it hits, best to fill every tub and container with water and buy up as much bottled water left on the shelves. You can’t flush the toilet, wash dishes or clean much without water. Not recommended, but the foolish invincibility of youth had me bathing in water-mocassin and gator-infested swamp and bayou water after some of those hurricanes hit since there was no water at home for showering. Bathtub-filled water was used for minor washing (pots, dishes, etc.), while bottled water was used for hydration and brushing teeth.