Recce rifles ,SPRs, and precision AR15s

Ive considered building a precision oriented AR for a long time but always kind of talked myself out of it. With @full30nick , @switchpod , @RetPara and @SAK all showing off their precision ARs ive kind of been influenced to build my Colt 6920 into a precision rig, probably something like the Recce concept.

This would be my base, I will pull the barrel , stock , fcg and swap the buffer set up for something heavier. Thats a 13.7" SLR rifle works quad rail , magpul grip and everything else is stock. Hopefully you guys can help inspire me by posting some pics of your builds/rifles? I will probably be asking a bunch of questions about these types of builds (since I have limited experience with precision set ups) so I thank anyone who contributes in advance for any info provided.

8 Likes

Keep that as is and get a COLT CAR-A3 HBAR ELITE

Then you have two purpose built rifles

3 Likes

It has a shitty 16" barrel with a carbine length gas system. The barrel is the same one off the militaries m4s so its only “ok”. Im ripping the barrel out and selling it ,anyways. I kind of want to build it up to a precision rig.

3 Likes

For precision set ups is 1:8 or 1:7 barrel twist preferred? I will probably stick to my blackhills 77 gr. unless I getvinto handloading or if anyone has any better recomendations on ammo selection.

1 Like

I like 1-8 myself.

SPR is a pretty loose term. But I have a few. Jf89 you have already seen my BCM.

But that is a light weight rifle. SPR generally will be a bull barrel. I can show some pictures of you would like?

No clue what just happened to the text???

2 Likes

Lol yea that would be cool.

1 Like

Olympic arms sgw “stop sign” A1 carbine. 5.56x45 16” hbar 1:9 twist match barrel. Spikes dynacomp extreme brake.

Trijicon ACOG 3.5x36 bible verse MATT 5:6.

Chrome plated Smith national match bolt carrier.

Hyper fire 24C trigger.
The rifle is 9 pounds so she does carry some weight.