Red Dot Poll

reddot

Aging eyes have started to affect my accuracy, so I’ve been using red dots on the AR and PCC for several years now. My declining vision hasn’t significantly affected my pistol shooting yet, so I still run irons. However, it’s only a matter of time, so I recently installed my first pistol dot on the Ruger MKII. I haven’t practiced much with the new setup yet, so it’s too early to have an opinion. Do you guys use red dots? If so, what are your thoughts?

Do you use red dots?
  • Rifles only
  • Handguns only
  • Both rifles and handguns
  • Neither. I shoot from the hip like Billy The Kid.
0 voters
9 Likes

I would not be opposed to using on on a pistol though

8 Likes

I have tried them and found that I can still shoot better with iron sights.

10 Likes

I likely will revisit them, just never had any I liked previously. though I can see the writing on the wall (when I tilt my bifocals)

8 Likes

Love a red dot for my semi auto defensive rifles. I’ve got a red dot on a range toy pistol, its accurate & I can pick up the dot pretty quick. But I feel I’m faster on target & have less obstruction/distraction sticking with the open sights on my EDC. I’m certain with more practice, a pistol optic can be mastered as well as open sights.
I too am not getting any younger & I know time is ticking on the eyesight. I plan to add more use of red dots on the pistols to become more proficient with them.

9 Likes

Just wait until your pushing 60 .

9 Likes

I feel more confident with a quick shot from a red dot, but my actual scores don’t differ from one to the other. It all still comes down to grip and trigger.

8 Likes

why have you waited so long ? you been tilting for years… :grimacing:

9 Likes

Can we have a choice that says “Neither: I use iron sights on pistols and iron or glass optic on rifles”?