Request for 1911 Build Component Suggestions

I’ve been collecting parts and tools for a 1911 build. VytaminC frame and mill jig, Rem Sport slide, NightHawk Custom threaded barrel, some various Wilson Combat parts (springs, pins, plunger tube,link kit, etc.). I want to go ahead and purchase the remaining components and tools. I would like to solicit suggestions on the beavertail grip safety and hammer. This is a stainless build and of course the VytaminC frame has a .250 radius.Thanks for any input.

6 Likes

I like the Wilson highride grip safety, I like the feel. but it’s 220 radius so need that jig. I been using cylinder & slide trigger and hammer parts in my last 2 builds.

5 Likes

The frame is a .250 radius so to use the .220 I’d have to add material. So I need a beavertail made for the .250 radius. I already have a cylinder and slide trigger I plan to use. I’ll have to take a look at their hammers. I do want a skeletonized trigger. I’d also like to get all the components from Brownells if possible just to reduce shipping. I have order some tools anyway. Thanks for the reply.

5 Likes

I beleive that Ed brown or smith and Alexander are a .250 radius
I ussualy use Wilson parts and as stated it’s a .220 radius

Where did you source the vytemenc frame from ?

4 Likes

I believe you would have to take some off with a 220 radius. Smith and Alexander also makes a Highride grip safety in 250 radius.

4 Likes

I purchase the vytaminc frame and mill fixture as a combo on GunBroker.

Unless I’m thinking wrong if the radius on the beavertail is 220 then the 250 frame would already have to much material removed.

5 Likes

Is this Your first build ?

5 Likes

Yes this is my first 1911 build. I have a lathe and mill so I’m not too concerned about the rail to slide fit. My main concern is the barrel lug and achieving proper lockup. I’m going to have to study that awhile.

6 Likes

pics please I’ve not heard of this company and like to learn about the options

frame is?