Run and Gun Biathlons

Anyone do run and gun 5K or 10K biathlons? I just did my first one at Waco Tactical Fitness - a 10K with physical obstacles and 7 pistol and rifle stages. It was tough as heck but a lot of fun. Here’s their website:

WTFbiathlon.com

Theirs is part of the Texas Lonestar Run and Gun Texas Championship series. I’m hooked and can’t wait to do it again next year.

7 Likes

Sounds like fun. Ahh, to be young, I would so do that.

4 Likes

I hear ya! I’m 52. Not that young, either, but not quite old I guess. I suffer from Crohn’s disease and had a bit of a cancer scare last year. So I decided I wanted to do some kind of physical activity on my “new lease” on life so to speak. I met another guy in his early 40’s who said he had real high blood pressure. So he started doing these about a year ago and his blood pressure went back down to normal.

I despise running, but really enjoy target shooting. I’m a complete noob to the shooting sports, though. But running and shooting? Sounded like fun, so I figured I’d try it. Way tougher than I thought, and way more addicting! To say it kicked my butt is an understatement. I completely failed two obstacles, timed out and DNF’ed every stage but one, and kept asking myself why the heck am I subjecting my 52 year old body to this? I thought I trained sufficiently for it by jogging 5 to 7 miles with 15-20 lbs in my backpack, doing push-ups, pull ups, and weights, and even lost 10 lbs of body weight, but I still felt weak on some of the obstacle courses.