Savage 64 - Rear screw no longer tightens

Hello all,

I have my first rifle as the Savage 64 F. And I’ve rather enjoyed shooting this rifle. Today, while re-assembling it, the rear Alan screw, that fastens the stock to the rifle, stripped the receiver hole of its threads. it still fastens to the trigger and magazine well. But its no longer connected to the receiver.

To be honest, I’m not sure what to make of this. My dads a wood worker, so I know a thing or two about screws and threads (though I’m not an expert by any means). But something like this is completely un-precidented in my life.

I still have the Phillips screw and the front screw that locks the barrel, keeping everything safe and secure. Is this something that can be fixed at home? Or do I have to send this thing back to Savage? And could savage do anything? From what I’m seeing, I’d need to get a whole other receiver.

2 Likes

You can repair it with a product called heli coil.

4 Likes

Yep, over size the hole and thread to the new size, put the heli coil in and you’re all set. Be very careful. If you’re unsure, take it to a gunsmith.

3 Likes

When you drill - make sure the bit is heterosexual/absolutely straight.
My aluminum jap bikes have more than a few heli coils. :roll_eyes:

2 Likes

A couple of other options if you can’t find Helicoil in your market.

E-Z LOK
Fix-A-thred

1 Like

You might get lucky with just re-tapping the hole.
If not, there’s the option of using a slightly larger tap and screw.
Or maybe a different tap and screw, like coarse vs fine or even metric…
Just a thought.

3 Likes

Sounds like there are a variety of options here that could effect a repair on your Savage 64. These guys are very resourceful, I would avoid sending it to Savage as they would be likely to perform any one of the solutions described at a high cost with shipping. Just sayin’

1 Like