screwdriver recommendations

I’m mostly a tinkerer but like to repair/service what I feel comfortable doing without the end result costing me a fortune because I did it wrong. I’ve disassembled most of my guns to clean including complicated trigger assemblies on my shotguns and go them back together successfully. That being said, I want to buy a decent set of gunsmithing screwdrivers. Can some of you pros recommend some brands? A Wheeler set caught my eye but most of the reviews said the bits broke off way too easily and often. What ya got for me?

8 Likes

Snap-on when you want the best

8 Likes

Tropicana and Tito’s? :smiley:

7 Likes

I guess I should have mentioned not liquid screwdrivers.:smirk:

9 Likes

I’m not a professional gunsmith, but the wheeler kit isn’t bad for the money. I’ve abused the hell out of mine on firearms and other household & garage related applications and have not had a bit break yet! They are shaped just a little bit better than average tools for gun shaped screws. Less ability to strip a screw head. I would highly recommend unless you want to get into some much more expensive gunsmith tooling

9 Likes

safcrkr I recommend the Wheeler Fat Wrench, screwdriver, torque bit set.

One of my favorite gun tool’s, I’ve had zero issues with any of the bits! they seem just fine you can always replace the bits with an upgraded set if you like👍

11 Likes

I have several different screw driver sets marketed towards gunsmiths. Sometimes they fit, sometimes they don’t. I also have a drawer full of generic screwdrivers , modified to fit specific screw heads. I bet I’m not alone.

10 Likes

Not that they don’t have quality tools, but the giant Stanley corporation has man different brands of quality tools under different names. My tool box is Snap On, and with that I have told you where I am sitting before I tell you where I stand. I have many Snap On branded tools.