Serialize 80% receiver or frame

Any one here serialize a frame or receiver? Does it need to be done by an FFL?

5 Likes

I have serialized all of mine.
I went to a laser engraver.

I don’t believe it has to be an FFL unless it is already a 100% receiver, and you shipped it to them.

Though CA is different i am sure.

5 Likes

I don’t see a lot of point in having everyone’s ghost guns serialized with 000001. I’m absolutely sure there is a provision in Biden’s crap that requires a specific serial number.

6 Likes

I’m no lawyer, but what I gathered from the rule on engraving and marking was that the person doing the marking wasn’t going to be required to be an FFL as long as it didn’t leave your possession/direct supervision and require the frame/receiver be entered into inventory. In other words, if it was a job that was done while you waited and not left with the engraver while you were not present then it should be fine. Finding a non-FFL engraver willing to do that might be a different story.

6 Likes

In CA they want you to apply for a S/N and they issue it to you. Then you are instructed to have that serial number along with other “manufacturer” info engraved within a certain period of time (possibly related to completion of build time), and if i am not mistaken you are supposed to upload a picture with it on the finished receiver.

Or some other shit like that.

I serialized mine before all this required nonsense happened here. Reason is that i wanted to have even a sliver of a chaince of recovering the firearm if it had been stolen.

8 Likes

That’s the best question

requires who?

Where did you gather from?

that can both save and condemn

“clause”

The term is found 479 times in a single edition of blacks law, more or less for other editions

1006 times here

https://constitution.congress.gov/search/clause

comity, commerce ect ect, one of particular note

https://constitution.congress.gov/browse/essay/amdt5-4-7-1-1-1/ALDE_00000909/[‘clause’]