Sight Pushers

I know a lot of smiths are on here. For those that don’t know I am a gunsmith student at SDI. I am wanting to invest in a sight pusher and am hoping I could get some recommendations on what’s good and what to avoid. I see pushers as cheap as like $40 bucks and then several hundred dollars. Are these cheaper ones good? Do I need to buy one for 300 bucks? Any help would be appreciated.

7 Likes

I want to see the responses too.
I am not a smith and have never used a sight pusher. So far have only used punches.

4 Likes

I have the Gen 2 (Mk III) RST RearSightTool Universal Field Sight Pusher and nothing to say to promote it except the Gen III looks like it might work :woozy_face:

The Gen 2 has no strength and is awkward, easy to misalign and potentially damage/scratch the firearm

I’ve put it away for brass punches more than once

7 Likes

I have the MGW sight pusher for Glocks. It is excellent, but it’s only for full size Glock pistols (no G42/43).
I know they make a more universal tool, but of course it’s more expensive.
As usual…you almost always get what you pay for.

6 Likes

Ive gone through a bunch of sight pushers in my career and ive done all the cheap ones out there, they are not worth it, other than just to use them for Glock sights, as you know you can drift a Glock rear sight by blowing on it. the one that i currently own and have had for a few years now is the Meprolight universal sight pusher, i honestly like this one as it is hefty, sturdy, and rugged. i got mines from Brownells and they are pricey but well worth the price. if i would have known in the beginning of my career i would have purchased once and done. Hope this helps friend.

https://www.brownells.com/gunsmith-tools-supplies/sight-scope-installation-tools/sight-movers/universal-sight-installation-tool-prod6841.aspx

5 Likes

Once I go to the shop… I will show you what I own…
You need a lot.
Cheap is just that, cheap.