There is only one vice for me...the FAL.

When I decided to get back into shooting I went to a gun show to buy the rifle I had decided was the one I needed…an HK.

But then I picked up a FAL and it just felt right in my hands. Ergos fit better. Cleaning it looked simple. Felt very robust.

Course it was assembled by CAI, so it didn’t work. I had to go find folks that knew about this rifle, FALfiles.com became my home. Got it working and shot the crap out of it. 308 was 12 cents a round in those days! I changed the bbl out a few years ago when it would no longer hold the 2-3moa it had been shooting. I know I had 10k+ rounds through it at that point.

These days I still take her out to any matches I go to…even if she isn’t considered competitive by any of the top shooters at those matches. Mostly run-and-guns these days.

Here she is after the Carolina RNG this year…

I will warn you I am not a FAL expert…or rather not in the esoteric nuances of the FAL…I have assembled/repaired over 200 of them, but I do not care in the least about making them ‘correct’…I just want them to function as well as they can.

10 Likes

FAL is awesome, LOVE them! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

2 Likes

And at one point I made this…

…which is usually cursed as an abomination or praised as a piece of genius.

“A sure sign that contact with a lathe will eventually cause insanity.” - Mike Brennan

9 Likes

Beautiful kit
I too am a fal fan there a lot of fun to build
Even better to shoot
I’m a member of the files as well
I’m way more active on the ak files but I lurk often on your home site
We have the same boss Jen

4 Likes

Leupold hog scope is the best option for that rifle IMO. I run a bunch of them as well.

4 Likes

I was very happy with mine until something went all wrong at the Carolina match and I was hitting low and right and couldn’t sort it out until towards the end.

That rifle now has an NX8 on it.

10 Likes