Tomahawks, self-defense / Sport throwing / food gathering

I got into Tomahawk throwing for self-defense last year. I’m just now able to hit my mark at about 15/20 paces my brother got me into it, he’s good enough where he can nail a rabbit or a squirrel at will.
Any other Tomahawk throwers out there? in the second photo I’m just learning to throw my Hawks for food gathering it’s not nearly as easy as it looks.

6 Likes

Very cool, SAK67 !

Sounds like a great hobby.

So, what’s the difference between a tomahawk and a small axe? Just different names, or…?

1 Like

@JohnB, just the size and weight of what you’re throwing, most any object can be thrown from knives, axes, hatchets, tomahawks, spikes, excetera excetera it just takes practice!

Thanks for the feedback.

How much does your tomahawk weigh?

1 Like

@JohnB, good question I don’t know how much it weighs, it’s the small size SOG if that helps, good for self-defense and taking rabbits.

Thanks, but what is SOG ?

1 Like

John it’s the brand name of the hawk SOG is a Cutlery Company the other is a axe by Cold Steel

1 Like

Thanks for the great pictures, SAK67.

1 Like

Hmm… Might be ok for hunting or just for fun. But as defense? Not sure I want to trow my weapon at (or to) a bad guy.

@mquinn55, I suppose you could try and catch or deflect a Tomahawk if you wanted to I’d really like to see that!
Hawks make a hell of a offense/defensive weapon if you know how to use one! you don’t just have to throw it at your opponent!

1 Like

I’ve been looking into getting a field craft tomahawk, do you have any suggestions for a not too pricey, but quality axe?

1 Like

@USMCMahon, I would recommend any of the Columbia River Knife & Tool Hawks, they’re all reasonably priced.
They’re all good quality, carbon steel for the $$

3 Likes

Absolutely for self defense, when the zombies begin roaming & you’re low on ammo, you just run through the hoards swinging and slashing! ( that’s how I justified buying one)

3 Likes