Two rules of gun safety for noobs

As a beginner I found it difficult to constantly keep the four NRA rules of gun safety in mind. I showed my carry gun to some friends in California, and to avoid intimidating them I simplified it to two main rules:

1. Always keep the gun pointed in a safe direction. (Knowing what’s behind the target is really a detail of this rule.)
  2. Finger out of the trigger guard until ready to pull it.

Since I was visually and physically making sure the gun was empty for them, I skipped over “every gun is loaded,” since this gun obviously was not, and I told them how I was making sure the gun was empty. Also, I covered “just in case” when explaining rule 1.

After those two rules, I let them hold the magazine, and let them hold the gun with the slide locked open, one at a time. Then I took the gun back and demonstrated dry-fire, and them do the same.

I think this helped them be a little less scared.

7 Likes

huh :thinking:

that’s way off from my two rules

1. This one’s mine,
  2. get your own

:grin:

11 Likes

ultimately the first rule should always be, treat a firearm as if it is loaded - period.
all other rules fall into place with the above

16 Likes

It’s a good rule of thumb. But thinking about it, it’s really hand-wavy. If you always treat it like it’s loaded, then how do you dry-fire? It’s not really always treated like it’s loaded.

So I just told them the “always-on” rules.

4 Likes

I agree 110% percent. And being the NRA was mentioned in the OP I would like to add :fu: the NRA

6 Likes

Maybe I can preface the rules with that as the underlying philosophy: “Never assume the gun is safe. Check.” But then even after checking, we still treat it carefully, so it doesn’t work completely.

4 Likes

you dry fire a unloaded gun
even unloaded you treat as loaded
first and always - when you pick up a firearm you will treated as loaded and than prove to yourself it is unloaded.