What do you look for with AR-15 Lowers?

Hello all,

I’m in the process of losing weight. Dropping from 250 lbs to 180 lbs. And I’m very close to being done. I’m 180.8 lbs as of Monday.

So, when I hit that first goal of 180, I’m going to buy an AR-15 lower. Then start building my own rifle off of that. Ofc what I can do will be limited, given I live in NYS. Still, I can do some things.

So, since I’m still new to shooting, I wanted to ask if there was anything specific your supposed to look for when buying your first lower?

I can tell you, I want to get an upper for firing pistol caliber rounds, and an upper for rifle caliber rounds. But I’m still very undecided on exactly which calibers I want to aim for.

I find most lowers to be about the same. Many times you end up paying for a name more so than the lower. I’ve built dozens of ARs and used dozens of different lowers. The only issue I’ve run in to is drop in triggers. Some times they just don’t drop in right. Seems some places use a larger mill to open up the trigger well, and that creates a larger radius curve at the corners. I personally prefer more squared wells as the triggers drop right in without issue.

Beyond that, it’s what you wish to have, you have a lot of options as to what is engraved on the lower. It’s really the trigger that will make the difference between a nice AR and an outstanding AR.

The only down side to the 300 blackout is the cost of the ammo. When it comes to caliber, that will depend on it’s end use.

Another thing to keep in mind is pistol caliber, the price of a drop in mag block adapter is the same or more than the cost of a new lower receiver. It will also need a different buffer. Do your research, it might be nearly the same price to build a dedicated 9mm lower. When you get to that point, come back and talk to us before buying anything. There’s a lot that needs to be considered beforehand.

Are you looking to build a show rifle or are you looking to beat the hell out of it?